My Comittee Login [Members only]

National Standardization Council

´╗┐The Ethiopian National standardization Council has been setup by the Government and has been drawn from the pertinent government Organization  and other body.The council has a close working relationship with the Ethiopian Standard Agency(ESA) in its endeavour Ethiopian Standards and it is the higher body which approves the national quality and standardization strategy proposed by the agency.Besides the council determines products for the use of national standard mark and also approve mandatory standad requirements which are proposed by the respective national technical committee on a certain products and services standards which are to be regulated from the safety, health ,environmental  and national security.

The composition of the council is revised by the government as appropriate but the Director General of Ethiopian standard Agency has a permanent seat in the council as member and secretary to facilitate the standard development process and since it is the core duty and responsibility of the agency. See more on ESA's role

Lists of Ethiopian National standardization Council is indicated below:                     

  1. H.E. Dr.Eng  Getanun mekuria,  - Chairperson
    • Minister -- Ministry of Science and Technology
  2. H.E. Mr. Tesfaye Mengistu,  - Member
    • State Minister -- Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resouce Development
  3. H.E. Mr.Teshome Lemma  - Member
    • State Minister -- Ministry of Education
  4. Professor.Eng Daniel Kitaw,  - Member
    •  Researcher -- Addis Ababa University
  5. H.E Getachew Hailemariam - Member  
    • State Minister -- Ministry Of  Urban Development & Housing
  6. H.E Mr.karie Chawicha -- Member
    • Minister -- Ministry of Environmen ,Forest development & Climate change
  7. Mr. Yehulu Denekew-Member
    • Director General -- Ethiopian Food Medicine and Health Care Administration & Control Authority
  8. Dr.Abidu Abagibe - Member
    • Director General -- National Metrology Institute 
  9. Mr. Getachew Regasa - Member
    • Secretary -- Addis Ababa Chamber of Commerce
  10. Mr. Wondu Legesse- Member
    • Director General -- Ethiopian Leather and Leather Products Institute
  11. H.E. Mr. Assad Ziad - Member
    • Technical Advisor -- Ministry of Trade
  12. Mr. Endalew Mekonen - Member & Secretary
    • Director General -- Ethiopian Standards Agency
  13. H.E Dr.Gebreegzibher Gebreyesus - Member 
    • State Minister-- Livestock & Fishery
  14. Major Biniam Tewelde -- Member
    • Director - Information Network security Agency of Ethiopia

Last Modified: 12/19/2017